top of page

Wetzel Weddin'

This wedding took place on Saturday May 27, 2017. All outdoor wedding in May of Pennsylvania--there must have been some great prayers to God for no rain that day. It was a beautiful, perfect day--it was not incredibly hot and was not humid. The clouds that lurked only helped to create a beautifully blue-lit sky.

This would only be my second wedding shoot of the year, and ever. I was nervous but excited...I had looked forward to it for a while. I just wanted to make sure I did a good job and did not disappoint. The bride and groom (and their family) was camped out at Duman's Park. I arrived and managed to find the right campsite where I first met the bride Brittnee and the Maid of Honor Alyssa. I spent some time scouting the place for some good photo opportunities and then got to work, capturing them getting ready.

Brittnee was full of nervousness and excitement. She wore nothing but a smile all day and was full of emotion. She got ready with the help and support of her five bridesmaids. Across the campsite path was where the husband to-be Kenny was getting ready with his groomsmen.

Everything was decorated beautifully and the beautiful shade of purple stood out against the field setting and yellow sunflowers. It was gorgeous! Brittnee told me that the wedding was planned in only a few short months and she had much help from all of her family members--I tip my hat off to all of you because you did a fantastic job and planned a beautiful wedding and reception.

The ceremony began around 3:30 PM. Everything went off without a hitch, at least it appeared that way. It was a lovely ceremony, friends and family filled the area in support and celebration. Laughs were shared and bubbles were blown as this couple said their "I-do's".

Later, Kenny surprised his bride with a ride from a fire truck as he is a firemen. She was shocked. We gathered everyone around for a few pictures and off they rode, arriving in style back to the reception tent. Brittnee, Kenny, and her daughter Ellie rode on the back at the very top of the truck. It looked fun! What an entrance!

We continued to get a few photos with the whole bridal party who were very patient, fun, willing to take photos and smile, and gave me time to figure out how to pose them as I'm still a little out of practice. So, thank you! They even brought some fun ideas out to try for photos. Then it was party time!!

Speeches were gave, tears shed, and dances were shared. It was a fun, care-free, and great party. The couple looked as happy as could be and so in-love!! The reception was held under party tents and a new pavilion built at Duman's Park by the vo-tech students at Admiral Peary Vocational Technical school. I am a paraprofessional there as well so I thought it would be remiss if I did not take a quick second to mention their hard and great work because it was a wonderful place for a wedding! The beautiful cake was made by Brittnee's grandmother. The delicious food was made by the family members.

It was great to spend a day with this kind, fun, and loving couple, as well as their family and friends. I loved seeing all the love and emotion among everyone, especially the bride. You could tell there is a lot of love to be shared between Brittnee and Kenny and their families. I enjoyed seeing the father/daughter dance, the mother/son dance, and the mother and daughter dance, among many other special moments (including Ellie being a part of the wedding so much).

The water front provided by Duman's Dam was so beautiful and elegant, a wonderful backdrop to have as the sun was setting on that perfect day. Those are some of my favorite shots of the night.

Thank you so much to bride and groom for choosing me, an unknown beginner photographer. I was honored. I am always looking for moments to practice and it means so much when people trust me to capture their day, their special moments, to let me in on a piece of their lives. I wish nothing but happy and wonderful moments for you both and a lifetime of blessings. Congratulations to the new Mr. and Mrs. Wetzel!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page